PDA

View Full Version : is this skimmer ideal for my settup?

loyalty
08/04/2004, 03:16 AM
http://marinedepot.com/md_viewItem.asp?idProduct=ACRM

just wanted some more knowledgeable opinions before i order
thanks

fishdoc11
08/04/2004, 06:14 AM
From what I have read that skimmer should work well for your tank although I have no experience with them personally.
Chris

reewik
08/04/2004, 07:13 AM
I too have head good things about this skimmer. I also do not have any experience with this skimmer.

kev-dog1
08/04/2004, 08:53 AM
I have two of these, and like them very much. I have a 55g and a 38g. After the initial breakin it skims pretty well. I get a 1/4" -1/2" of skimmer tea in the cup every week or so and lots of sludge build-up on the riser leading into the cup. Very sleek design.
I'm going through a tank modification period and will be adding a fluval surface skimmer to my skimmers to fix a surface skum build-up problem I've been having. Aqua C also sells a preskimmer box that does the same thing.
Good luck!
Kev

aquaman67
08/04/2004, 10:48 AM
That's the exact skimmer I use with the exact Maxi-Jet upgrade bought from the exact place I got mine!

I really recommend it. It's quite and it works.

It will take a few days, up to a week or so to break in, but it start working.

You get free shipping from marine depot if you spend over $175 so you might as well get some food, test kits or something to get the free shipping too!

BTW are you going to the reef club meeting this month?

loyalty
08/04/2004, 11:37 AM
Originally posted by aquaman67

You get free shipping from marine depot if you spend over $175 so you might as well get some food, test kits or something to get the free shipping too!

BTW are you going to the reef club meeting this month?

thats a good idea, i didn't know about the free shipping. As for the meeting, I'm still too much of a newb to attend one..I atleast want to have all the equipment before i go to one:D

aquaman67
08/04/2004, 01:54 PM
Dude,