PDA

View Full Version : help fragging leather

kev-dog1
07/30/2004, 11:35 AM
I've got a leather coral that has grown attached to a neighboring piece of rock and I'd like to take advantage of this and split/frag it so I have two seperate specimens.
It was sold to me as some kind of finger leather, but looks more like a spaghetti leather.
I've never done this before, so can somebody walk me through this process?
I'd like to do it right where its sitting, so I won't risk tearing it away from either rock.
What tools do I need? Is this done before lights on when its kinda droopy, or after lights on and it has perked up? Any special care after splitting/cutting/fragging?
Thanks
kev

coralreefing
07/30/2004, 11:47 AM
Cut it with something very sharp so you get a nice clean cut. Make sure both pieces have part of the stalk & part of the head after the cut. If you're going to cut it in the tank then run some carbon in case it releases any toxins.
HTH

kev-dog1
07/30/2004, 12:03 PM
Really sharp like a razor blade? or scissors?
How long do I run carbon? Unfortunately I not set up for running carbon. I'd have to get a hang on filter and totally remove the canopy, which means no lights.
(I'm making a mod to the canopies as I go thru my tear down both tanks and re-setup, so that I can add a hang on when needed...but that doesn't help me right now)
Is this 'releasing toxins' a probable thing? If I can't run carbon I'd rather not risk it. How can I avoid this risk?

coralreefing
07/30/2004, 12:40 PM