PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

erikcooper
06/14/2004, 03:08 PM
Hello to all. Name is Erik Cooper, from Marion, AR. I am new to SW and am planning to start a 29g reef. I got the tank empty and want to start small for monetary purposes and to get the good hang of it. I was thinking of getting around 45 lbs. LR and maybe 45-60 lbs. LS? Does that sound good? I have a used RO/DI unit that have no idea how to run but was hoping to get some pictures of and see if anyone could help me out with it. Other than that I am blank as to what to do. I do plan to have a 10g as a sump/refugium. I need any and all advice I can get. Especially on a good quality skimmer that will suit my needs, as well as lighting.

Thanks in advance,
Erik Cooper

Scuba Dog
06/14/2004, 03:22 PM
Welcome to Razorback Reef Erik..! yes the 45 to 60 lbs of live rock is plenty for a 29 gallon system, and Im glad your planing on using a refugium and a skimmer sounds like your have been doing your home work...as far as a good qwuality skimmer some of the members might have one for sale, or one of the DIYers might build you one for a fee....lighting will depend on what type of corals you want to keep...but generaly I always recomend a 250 halide that bulb will keep anything alive and thirving, plus when you decide to go bigger tank wise the 250 halide system can be reused....

jerryc
06/14/2004, 03:34 PM
Hello Eric glad to have you here :D sounds like you have a
decent layout planned.:cool:
the 45 wood probably be enough rock
as far as a skimmer goes i would recommend a
AquaC urchin pro with a mag-3 to go in your sump
Also would recommend continuing your research and reading
here and other places. you need to get in your mind the
type of corals you want to keep before deciding on a lighting
setup [soft LPS_SPS] it we'll save you dollars down the road
not to half to purchase the same items twice like some of
the rest of us.:rolleyes: anyway welcome ask as many questions