PDA

View Full Version : best deal on a clean-up crew?

freelancing
09/09/2001, 07:51 PM
I've never bought livestock on-line before... just equipment, and not too much of it.

I'd be interested in any warnings, suggestions or horror stories anyone might have concerning acquiring a good 100+ gal clean-up crew, whether it be on-line or an LFS.

Also, I'd like to get opinions concerning the best species for the job.

Shrimp are out... my wrasse would finish a cleaner shrimp off in no time.

I've got the following inhabitants in my tank:

greenbird wrasse (no sense reccomending that I get rid of him... he's my favorite fish and he stays)
blue velvet damsel
2 mated oscelera clowns (false percs.)
blue damsel
yellow tail damsel
neon dottyback
royal dottyback (bi-color psuedochromis)
big honkin' black cucumber (about 11")
pencil sea urchin (I've heard these are not good for an immature tank like mine, but I haven't been able to fish him out yet)

I'm new to cucumbers, but I've heard they are great sand sifters and don't strip away all the good cooties in the sand like the sand-sifting star I just sold to the LFS... he's been in the tank for about 12 hours and thankfully, my wrasse totally ignores it.

I still need to add sand... I've got nearly 4" in some spots and just bare glass in a few spots where the velvet damsel and the wrasse have built night-time sleep nests. Sand consists of about 40# of southdown on top of 40# live "bio active" sand mixed w/ 40# of pink Fiji arragonite sand.