PDA

View Full Version : Lighting help

Simrdguy
04/15/2004, 12:09 AM
Hey, my buddy set me up with this tank before I moved, and I never asked him about the lighting, there are two bulbs one about 18" one about 24" the longer is a blue/white bulb and the shorter is all blue, was wondering if this is enough light for most corals or if I should upgrade to something else.

24" (Blue and White)
55 watt
W.7100k & B.12000k

18" (Blue)
Powercompact 36 watt
460nm Blue
twin tube 2G11 base

What kinda of bulbs are these, are they sufficent? I have a 29 tall tank. If I need to switch over what should I get?

drock59
04/15/2004, 12:48 AM
those are power compacts, PC. They look fairly old so i ask do you have any idea the age? IM no expert on PC but I will give you my opinion. I think they are terrible. i would take Metal Halide, VHO or T5 over them any day of the weak.

Simrdguy
04/15/2004, 12:54 AM
Dont you get a lot of heat out of metal halide? Doesnt help when it gets 100 here during the day... most of the summer... plus its not a very big tank... do I need that... I think they only look old cause I havnt cleaned them... and we used ungalvanized screws and brackets

drock59
04/15/2004, 01:14 AM
i didnt say that you needed halides but i said it was a better option than PC. I think T5 and VHO are better lights than pc also. Any light you get is going to put off heat. therefore many people by fans or chillers. It usually isnt much of an issue if you have lots of air blown on the surface of the water. Evaportion tends to increase, but it keeps it cool. In 100 degree weather you should have a chiller with no exceptions.

Simrdguy
04/15/2004, 01:18 AM
Yeah but you forget Im a cheap ***... Ill just dump some ice from the ice maker in there...

drock59
04/15/2004, 01:20 AM