PDA

View Full Version : 2 new fish within 3 days of purchase

chris ball
08/25/2001, 11:37 AM
I bought a yellow long nose and a regal tang the tang died within 4 hours and the yellow long nose 4 days I have checked nitrates ph all ok. I noticed my yellow long nose had what i think to be white spot would this cause my problem my tank has been running for 7 weeks i have other fish a few damsels [ soon to go to aggressive ] and have just got a powder blue [ hope he/she survives ] and goby i am new to marine and loads of info that u expeirenced mariners know please any info would gratefully recieved

cheers: :(

pdb
08/25/2001, 11:49 AM
Whoa! Slow down. You didn't mention how big your tank was but most people figure on 75 gallons per Tang. Also, after just seven weeks I wouldn't think of adding a Tang to any size tank. Tangs are algae grazers and you wouldn't have any of the algae that a Tang would like to graze on in a seven week old tank. Were you feeding the Tangs any type of Nori or Seaweed Selects?

If I were you I would slow down, do not add anything to your tank for awhile and do some reading. Use the search feature on this site to look up particular questions that you may have and grab a book or two. If you have any additional problems from here on out, post here and I'm sure that you will find plenty of help. Good luck.

chris ball
08/25/2001, 01:10 PM
I have a 30 gallon tank and I wasnt feeding either of the two mentioned foods I only had frozen shrimp and flake I my local fish shop said it would be enough I have one book and read it thoroughly but it doesnt beat experience and I think I jumped straight in at the deep end do you have to buy algae. I only have fish only tank dont know anything about reef tanks anyone fell free to tell me more and how stupid i have been or [misinformed]:confused:

cheers:confused:

hcs3
08/27/2001, 07:27 PM
hey chris [welcome]