PDA

View Full Version : new to corals

mshill43
03/24/2004, 11:34 AM
I'm new to all of this coral stuff. I've been reading up on it all and trying to learn. I traded in my "unfriendly to reef" type fish, cowfish and flame angel for a lyretail anthias and a cinnamon clown.I've got a nice looking star polyp and green hairy mushroom from Vipets on plainfield. I also got a couple nice polyp rock's and a green open brain from Ecco-reef in Zeeland. I'm very impressed with that place. Just wanted to say hi.

benjavan
03/25/2004, 06:00 PM
Hello. Sounds like you are off to a great start. You should come to one of the club meetings. At our auctions you can get some great corals.

Gerde
03/26/2004, 08:58 AM
Hey neighbor, Reef Central is full of great info, and our club has really been growing. Our last auction was huge, and a great way to get some nice stuff without paying an arm and a leg retail prices at a store.

star
04/14/2004, 07:39 AM
HI MShill43! I am new too. There are a lot of fish stores here in Grand Rapids that carry salt water. Have you checked them out?

mshill43
04/14/2004, 08:05 AM
hey there star!!!
yes, i've checked out just about every store around here in GR.
Ecco-reef in zeeland has awesome corals and not to bad price's. vipets on plainfield has to have the largest selection of fish. what are your favorites?

battplus
04/15/2004, 08:28 AM
Stay with Ecco-Reef, very clean place and he has the best selection of corals. Chris is the owners name, and very good friend of mine. He is starting to set up sps corals again, its going very well, most of my colonies come from him.

Soloman Seas is another very good store, awesome prices. Bob and his wife used to run the Soloman distributors. He carries amazing acro colonies, some of my best came from him, including a blue capricornis as well.

Mike

Gerde
04/15/2004, 12:38 PM