PDA

View Full Version : weird bug has killed 4 fish

freelancing
08/20/2001, 07:19 PM
About 5 months ago I had a 3.5" (nearly full grown) fingerpint puffer. Had him for about a month and he was doing great. He stopped eating one day, but looked at the food and watched the other fish eating away.

The next day he hid under mini cave in the rock and wouldn't come out. Finally he was bobbing near the filter and I thought he was dead. I came to get a net and he was gone... then I saw him laying in the substrate, gasping for air and I watched him die what seemed to be a horrendous death for about an hour. Is there a way to euthanize a fish that is in agony?

I am new to the hobby and I figured there was just something wrong with him... cancer, gout, heck, I don't know anything... at least I'm learning.

I then got a saddle valentini puffer to replace him. A couple of months ago, both the saddle valentini puffer and a red spotted hawkfish stopped eating. I finally pulled my head out of my rear end and set up a hospital tank (and no, I didn't wait for it to cycle... didn't know anything about that stuff).

By the time the tank was set up for 24 hours, the puffer had died the same way the first one did.

The hawkfish still hung in there and I had to take every freakin' rock out of my 140gal tank to net that little !@$~# fish to put him in the hospital tank. The puffers showed no external signs of illness other than not eating and then hiding. The hawkfish was not only not eating, but his mouth hung open and there was a red sore in his mouth.

I started dosing the 10gal. hospital tank w/ pennicillin (sp?) and the red spot and lump started to go away. Just about then, one of my pumps in the big tank went out and my chemistry was awful, so I kept the hawkfish in the hospital.