PDA

View Full Version : Lighting for a 10 gal

Troutman
08/15/2001, 09:43 PM
Well, I just finished adding the live sand to my tank and am looking at a big cloud of dust floating around in there. Starting to settle, but I'm gonna guess it will be a few days before it completely settles.

My question is.......What would be the best lighting for this tank? I plan to build/buy a custom canopy. What wattage is required? I would like to add some coral frags down the road. Should I have different colored lights? Sorry, but I'm quite new to this. Browsing all of the threads is confusing. If I were to go with the www.ahsupply.com canopy, what lights should I get for it?

Thanks in advance!
Troutman

Jeremy B.
08/16/2001, 12:30 AM
I did have 2 2x13w setups on my 10 gal....but just changed as of last night/today. I'm experimenting w/something new here. I bought a LOA 65w worklight from Walmart ($24.00) and built a canopy for to fit onto from scraps I had laying around. Then I wired in one of my 2x13w blue pc's from AH Supply....one on each side of the canopy. I don't have any corals yet....only about 30 lbs of Fiji rock, a yellow tail, and misc. amounts of turbo snails and scarlet and blue leg crabs. What I can tell you is this so far......It is brighter than before. I have a few button polyps (very small) that are growin off the rock. They've shrank up their stems, but their main flower area is larger than I've ever seen them before. I've noticed the small feather dusters that are sprouting are spreading out a lot more as well. Only time will tell. HTH

lakerfan
08/16/2001, 01:58 AM
go for the 2x36 watt setup from ahsupply it should give you some flexibility as to what you can put in your tank. IMO you should always put the highest wattage that you can both afford and tolerate (in regards to heat, light escaping the hood, replacement bulbs, canopy height, etc...)

HTH

bigchili
08/16/2001, 07:10 AM