PDA

View Full Version : Canister filters

kwjones
03/03/2004, 02:43 PM
Ok, I'll admit that as a newbie, I was duped into getting one of these.

I used to run filter media and carbon in it, but my Nitrates stayed high, so I ditched the filter media and just put carbon in it.

Recently I've taken the carbon out and put it in the bubble trap return on my Remora Pro skimmer, so basically the canister is empty except for the baskets and is used for circulation.

Has anyone put LR rubble in their canister filters? Any benefits? Does it turn into a nitrate factory?

I'm just trying to think of a way to get some more use out of the canister instead of just circulation and surface agitation with the spray bar.

Kevin

chawee
03/03/2004, 04:30 PM
If you ever have a phosphate problem you can run RowaPhos in it. Some reefers even use it continuosly, but that can be expensive... especially if you don't need it!

pbanda
03/03/2004, 04:34 PM
I got duped too back in '97..... I ran it empty for a while just for circulation... it died over the summer. The most fowl smell I every smelt when I emptied it before tossing it!!!

JJM
03/03/2004, 05:08 PM
I run my reef with 3 cannister filters, and 2 PHs for circ, thats it...no skimmer or sump. Unconvential , yes ,...impossible , no....I run fluff, carbon , polys 24 / 7 .....modest h20 change weekly , change filter media every 3 or 4 weeks...Guess ive been duped to , into a successful reef !!!!