PDA

View Full Version : Would a 20g hex work?

SeaMac
08/06/2001, 12:05 AM
Howdy everyone...

I'm new to this section of RC and I can tell you already that I am definitely gonna get into big trouble reading new forums late at night! I have always been intrigued by seahorses (even more so now that there are captive-bred ones available), but only now at 1:00 am my time am I seriously considering setting up a seahorse tank! :D Well, at least planning one out...

I have read through the posts here (and plan on visiting www.seahorse.org too), and have a question regarding tank size. I understand the importance for height, and was wondering what your opinions were on using a 20 hex (roughly 20-21" tall) for a single pair of Ocean Rider Mustangs? This would be slightly less than 3x the adult height of the horses if they reach the full 8", but would be just about right for 6-7" horses.

I would plan on having a 1-2" sandbed (not for denitrification)with plenty of ministars, copepods, amphipods, gammarus shrimp, small bristleworms, etc... from my reef tank; approx 15-20 lbs. of LR as biological filtration; a CPR BakPak 2 with surface skimmer as the main water circulation; possibly a mini- or micro-jet powerhead for additional circulation (if needed); some low light corals like mushrooms; lighting still to be determined; and some type of tall branchy structures (not sure if I'll use live or dead for this one...any suggestions???) as hitching posts for the Mustangs. What do y'all use?

Thanks for any help you can give me...I want to take this really slow so as to get it right from the beginning! :)

Chris

SeaNemesis
08/06/2001, 01:16 PM