PDA

View Full Version : protein skimmer`s

CASHCRZZY
01/24/2004, 10:52 AM
i have the 75 gal tank 10 gal sump , i am going looking for a skimmer today and was wondering if i would be able to find a good skimmer locally or if i need to go online and shop ,,
what are the best skimmers ???
JJM i took your advice on gettin a ro unit , but i did not go cheap i went to www.airwaterice.com and bought their typhoon3 ro/di
i should have it by wed . im still trying to figure out "in my head "how to plumb this thing so it looks good . i need my skimmer before i set up baffles in my sump . i have never done this before so its all a puzzle to me but coming together !
a friend at work was talking to a friend of his about my tank ,his friend said he had a 100 gal acrylic custom all drilled and set up that was given to him , he has offered it to me may be going to get it this weekend . this may change everything ..
So now a good question is when i buy this protein skimmer should i go overboard and buy a skimmer for say a 150 tank ?? could i use that in my 75 if all doesent work out ?? !!
JJM please pencil me in for the club meeting on the second
thanks Greg

Scout
01/24/2004, 12:26 PM
That's also the RO/DI I went with. I've been running it almost a year and have had no problems.
I'm sure everyone has their favorite skimmer. I'm using a Excalibur, seem to work fine. I got mine at the Hidden Reef. It's also carried at Newark tropicals and Fishermans.

Mike

Scout
01/24/2004, 12:31 PM
Here's the link to the skimmer I got at hidden reef.

http://www.thehiddenreef.com/saltwater_aquarium_supplies/aquarium_supplies_reef_products/advanced_aquaria_proteinskimmers.htm

Mike

CASHCRZZY
01/24/2004, 12:35 PM
hey mike that has the reo pump on it right ? Have you had any problems with it ??? i have seen alot of posts saying those pumps are a problem !! ??

grunstad
01/24/2004, 12:38 PM
I sent you e-mail

Scout
01/24/2004, 12:48 PM