PDA

View Full Version : Hi...im new

waverz
01/21/2004, 11:41 PM
Hi, I just stumbled on this forum tonite and thought ide post. I've been doing freshwater for about 20 years and finally decided to get into reef keeping. Im in the process of setting up my 125 gallon, actaully its filling with RO water as i type. A slow process i might add.
Anyway Ill tell ya a litte bit about my setup, its a 125 All-Glass tank. I built a canopy which houses 2-400 watt metal halides. For filters, I have an external overflow (which was made by a guy here in town), a 35 gallon rubbermaid tub, and a 20 gallon refugium. I plan on connecting the tub and 20 gallon together with bulkhead fittings. As far as a protein skimmer i am still undecided. I am trying to find one cheap...i may buy one from the guy who built my overflow.
As soon as i get the bugs worked out of the filtration i plan on buying 100 lbs of live rock as well as a bunch of live sand for the filter and refugium. Soon as i get everything established i will be intrested in trading frags. Hopefully there is someone local who will be intrested in doing some trades. :D

flyj3
01/21/2004, 11:59 PM
Welcome and where are you?

waverz
01/22/2004, 12:06 AM
I'm in Evansdale...right next to Waterloo.

flyj3
01/22/2004, 12:18 AM
Next club meeting is in Iowa City, Hope you can make it...
You shouldn't have anyproblem getting frags for your tank.
There are plenty available....
John

dellrio
01/22/2004, 08:43 PM
have u thought about where u plan to buy your live rock? theres several people here in iowa that sell live rock cheap.. i may know soemone who can get it for so cheap i am not even gunna say the price... let me know if u want the info...

Ball
01/22/2004, 09:17 PM
Im a newbie starting a tank. Id like the info.. :)

dellrio
01/23/2004, 03:32 PM
turns out the deal i thought i had.. wasnt really what it was.. now its more like $115 for 45lbs and .50 cents per pound shipping. let me know if this price still interests u.

davefromia