PDA

View Full Version : hello all, new to this hobby

CASHCRZZY
01/19/2004, 08:02 PM
I am very new at this still dry behind the ears, and have alot of questions I have not started anything yet still reading and shoping.
Iwould like to start a 55+gal tank system (no larger than 100 gal,for now) what do you more experianced hobiests think about buying a used system to start ?? how much time do you think you invest, shopping ,setting up, playing with,maintaining your systems, as you can see in profile wife is expecting twins ,my free time will be getting very slim come july. but i would love to get something going . i was looking at the live reef and live sand products at http://www.tbsaltwater.com/ and was wondering if these kind of things can be bought locally . i have alot of questions to ask probally mind blowing :eek1: but dont want to start something that i wont be able to finish or keep alive :cool:
thanks for any advice " Greg"

Scout
01/19/2004, 10:03 PM
You REALLY need to get involved with our club.

1st off, take your time and research. We all have boxes in our basements with "juke" we bought when first getting started. The better equipment does cost more. You'll save money in the long run by setting it up right the first time.

Also, IMO, bigger is better. Smaller tanks have bad things happen faster. You said in your post 55 or maybe up to 100. I'd get as close to 100 as possible. You'll also have more options in choosing the fish for you tank.

My first year I was messing with the tank almost every weekend. With you twins arriving soon, maybe you'd be happier starting off as a fish only and moving up to a reef when you life gets somewhat settled in.

As to getting new or used, it just depends on what equipment your talking about.

HTH
Mike

JJM
01/20/2004, 06:38 AM