PDA

View Full Version : Pairing neon dottybacks

ravenmore
07/01/2001, 10:29 AM
Hi - this is my first time to post in this forum. What a wonderful resource! Suprised I didn't come across it sooner!

The reason I'm here is that I have a neon dottyback (p. aldabrensis. Sorry, sure I totally butchered the latin spelling. Just wanted to differentiate that it wasn't the p. dutoti <again probably mispelled> version). I want to pair him up. Partially because I simply think it'd be neat and partially because, if it's not toooo difficult, I'd like to tank raise some fish and sell them back to the lfs.

So, how difficult is it to pair them up if you don't have a pre-existing pair? I don't want to start WWIII in my tank. (btw, I noticed petco near me has what appears to be 5 or 6 juvies, in the same tank no less!!! :eek1: )

Also, any thoughts on how difficult of an undertaking this is? :)

Thanks,
-Mike

ravenmore
07/09/2001, 10:11 PM
wow, guess this was a real barn burner......

Bass_Cadet
07/10/2001, 01:18 AM
OK, I'll take a stab at it.

I had two neon dottybacks in a 20 gallon and I'm pretty sure they paired up and spawned after a few months. I was/am busy with the orchid dottybacks so I didn't pay too much attention to them. The larger one [male] took to a PVC den similar to the orchid dottybacks. The smaller neon [female] looked gravid from time to time, similar to the orchid female. Unfortunately the female disappeared a couple of months back and I never found her. I think 20 gallon is too small for neons since they are quite aggressive.

My opinions:
1. Their mating habits seem similar to orchid dottybacks so if you have not read Martin Moe's _Breeding the Orchid Dottyback_ book, that should be your first move. Even if you decide not to breed them, it's worthwhile to read. There's also a lot of other useful info about breeding dottybacks on the internet.

2. They are not difficult to pair up and spawn, but they are aggressive and need room.