PDA

View Full Version : Feeding a Flowerpot

acmeguy
11/14/2003, 04:53 PM
I am relatively new to keeping a mixed reef tank and my LFS sold me a LPS which I later discovered was a Goniopora. I have read mixed messages as to hardiness and longevity.

Can anyone offer advice as to how to care for this coral such that it will prosper in my tank.

It has great polyp extension. I watch it come to life in the mornings in my office when the lights come on.

At times the fingers on the polyps look 'distended' but it varies from day to day.

I keep my dkh around 9.5, calcium around 425 - 450, salinity around 1.023, temp around 78 and I currently run Custom Sealife Smartlite with 2 96 watt 50/50 bulbs.

DgenR8
11/14/2003, 07:53 PM
I haven't seen any mixed messages about this coral, I have only seen that they aren't just difficult, but nearly impossible to keep long term. I don't know a whole lot about them, but I've read that they actually prefer a "dirty" system. People that strive for perfect water conditions seem to lose them faster than people that don't skim, do few water changes, and allow their tanks to slip into conditions that I would never allow my tank to be. In the wild, they are found in lagoonal settings. Low flow, and murky water.
What else are you keeping?

luvmyreef
11/16/2003, 04:52 PM
I don't know about the dirty tank part, I have had 1 for about a year now along with a galaxia and I don't think my system is dirty. My Gonipora even shot off a baby which really shocked me. I do know they require high light and good water flow. My calcium, salinity ect. is same as yours. I feed phytoplanton daily along with a variety fo other stuff for fish and corals. I know a year is not a long time but so far so good.
I just hope it continues to do well for me. Good luck!

acmeguy
11/17/2003, 01:07 PM