PDA

View Full Version : ozone and Ick

yellowtruck75
11/14/2003, 02:34 PM
I just got home from college for the weekend and discovered that my six tangs all have ick. What do I do to get rid of it? Will a cleaner wrasse solve my problem? I also have ozone but its not hooked up, can I hook it up and feed it directly into my skimmer (counter current just like Ron sold)? Would ozone help at all?

GarSrtn
11/14/2003, 06:53 PM
I'm no expert, so take what I say with a grain of salt...

Everything I've read about this indicates that one must ascertain the cause of the ich outbreak. There are a variety of treatments that have been suggested for ich: ozone, 'reef safe' meds, garlic, etc. Unless one eliminates the original cause of the outbreak, it will keep comming back. In short, if you can find what caused them to get it (water quality, for example) and remedy the problem, the ich should recede by itself.

ByTor
11/18/2003, 07:33 PM
the cause, stress(overcrowding), water quality, diet. are the 3 reasons most fish get ich... personally 6 tangs in a 125 :(:(:(

The best cure I know for ich is find the cause, cure the cause. Then feed more of the proper foods.Adding selcon to the mix is a good thing too.
If the fish are healthy and stress free they will cure themselves.

BTW if you don't have an ORP monitor or controller. You can easily kill everything with ozone...

yellowtruck75
11/18/2003, 08:44 PM
Sorry to sound stupid but Ron helped me setup the ozone two years agon and left me out to dry. He told me I needed two reactors. One to inject the ozone and another for carbon to get ozone out. Has anyone else done this or even heard of it this way? I currently just have my ozone generator hooked up to my skimmer. Anyone else do it this way or even use ozone?

BTW if you don't have an ORP monitor or controller. You can easily kill everything with ozone...

Can you explain this stuff

yellowtruck75
11/18/2003, 08:45 PM