PDA

View Full Version : novice

Grimstein
10/13/2003, 11:10 PM
Hello all.

My name is Matt. I am somewhat new to the hobby. my tank will be up soon hopefully. I'm gonna try to start with a 20 long. if anyone has any opinions or suggestions on starter equipment
I will listen to all. by the way Mo, nice meet had great time but missed ya at Rivals
Go Broncos!!:dance:

zooqi
10/13/2003, 11:52 PM
I know I could not go to Rivals untill 10:30pm.. Rivals is a good place and I love going there. I will see you in Erie when i come down with Jimmy then. I don't know if you have a tank or not but I had a couple of used tanks in the back room. I also had more lights PCs. Jimmy will be a good help and he has good experience in this hobby and good to see that you live close to him and know him.

Grimstein
10/14/2003, 03:33 PM
Yes Rivals was a good hangout. All I have now is the 20 L and heh... my corals. forgot to look downs stairs at equip, but i'm currently pricing new and used items. dont know if I should start with power compact or M.H for lights. my my thats just the start of it.

zooqi
10/14/2003, 10:33 PM
Originally posted by Grimstein
power compact or M.H for lights
MH for that size tank might be a little too hot but if you have a way to keep the water cool then is fine. Power compacts are not bad but if you are planning on going bigger soon then you will buy PC and then will decide to go bigger and get a MH. Somebody else might have another good idea or suggestions.

Grimstein
10/14/2003, 10:43 PM
well guess if I get the PC they can be used for atinics when I move to MH and a bigger tank.

nixnutz
10/15/2003, 10:19 AM
Grimstein,

You should start with the PC's or VHO, but get a retrofit kit. If you get one of those PC's that's in a fixture with fans, you'll have trouble fitting both the PC fixture and halides over the tank. I'm speaking from experience....