PDA

View Full Version : Rob, Tom Thank you

masterswimmer
09/23/2003, 11:36 PM
Greetings One and All,
I'm new to the reef scene, live in the Hudson Valley and have been warmly welcomed by both Rob and Tom. I know of your meeting this Friday in Kingston. Can't make this one but I'd like to try making the next one. I have tons of questions and a lot of experience in DIY.....an ex-builder. If I can help anyone out please don't hesitate to contact me.

Please bare with me, my questions might seem trivial and show my inexperience but I'm anxious to get my tank started. I'm in the learning/fact gathering stage right now. Already bought my 75 gal. acrylic, but nothing else. Here is my current wish list, nothing set in stone, so any suggestions/recommendations would be very welcome:
ER CS6-1
SunLight supply Tek Light T-5 6 x 54 watt hood
Iwaki 30RLT (japanese or american? which one?)
Barracuda or Oceanus 4 stage RO/DI
3 maxi-jet 1200 powerheads
90-100 lbs LR preferrably Fiji or Kaleani
4" DSB (10% live for seed, 90% aragonite)
titanium ground probe
sump/refuge home made? custom? stock? any suggestions?

Thanx for any input,
Russ

Tomzpc
09/24/2003, 09:34 AM
Hi Russ...glad to see that you found our forum.

It sounds to me that you've done your research. It's hard to argue with any of your choices.

As far as the Iwaki's go, the japanese motors (MD) run quieter than the american made (WMD) counterparts, but they also tend to run about $100 more. You may also want to look at the CSL T-3 Titanium pump. They are cheaper than the japanese iwakis but just as quiet and not as expensive. They do tend to run hotter than most pumps though so if you think that heat may be a problem with your tank, based on how hot your house gets, then go with the Iwaki.