PDA

View Full Version : Local fish stores...

MBvash
09/15/2003, 08:39 PM
First off hello everyone.

I am pretty new to fishkeeping was just wonddering what are the better fish stores in the metro area. I've been going to Something Fishy for my fish and supplies (boy thier live rock is spendy!). So whats out there as far as stores in the area go?

JnS
09/15/2003, 10:06 PM
well all the store in the metro are going to be more then buying from hobbiests and small business (like myself).
edge has a list on his site, I am sure he will post a link.

Jerry

MBvash
09/16/2003, 12:53 AM
Cool, never really thought about that... well as far as frag swapping I won't be doing anything like that for awhile but wheres the best way to get around to buying fish from individual aquarists and "small business" folk?

Is there a standard forum that alot of people in the minnesota area go through?

manderson0805
09/16/2003, 01:00 AM
MV, Jerry can get you anything you want, a lot cheaper than the LFS...what type of lighting do you have on your tank? Skimmer? I have some green star polyps you can have if your tank is up to par to start stocking it. Mike

MBvash
09/16/2003, 01:12 AM
Well my tank is pretty new, I got it cycled. Then added some yellowtailed dwarf damsels, then a half black dwarf angel. Then removed the damsels cause one of em was harrassing my dwarf. Dwarf got sick and just started a hospital tank treatment with Maracyn two today. Well my main tank seems to be going strong just needs some fish in it now :) .

I really want to keep my tank FO mixed with some hardy inverts for a couple years before I decide to jump into reef keeping.

Future additions I am looking at are a Fuzzy Dwarf lion for sure, been looking into the possibility of a snowflake eel... been told by more people then not that one would work in a 55 but I tend to think it seems a bit small. Keeping my eyes open for other preditory type animals that would be comfortable in a 55.