PDA

View Full Version : Responsible Reefkeeping Debate #3- Species Suitability

MaryHM
07/22/2003, 10:22 PM
As we all know, there are many species that people consider to be unsuitable for captivity that are regularly imported for the trade. But what is unsuitable? Different people have different ideas. Is it length of time it can be kept alive, sustainability issues, etc...? Should we deem any species unsuitable? Remember, it was a short decade ago that many thought Acropora and other SPS were unsuitable. But now that we have figured out their captive requirements, they not only survive but thrive and grow! Could the same hold true for goniopora, dendronepthya, etc....? Many issues here- I'm interested in your views!

SteveC
07/26/2003, 12:29 PM
Well, I guess I'll bite since nobody else has, and I think it's an important discussion. I am still a newbie to this hobby so everything I say comes from that perspective and is subject to change as I learn and grow (wow, this sounds like early childhood development or something!).

First of all, as a newbie I would be really upset if I tried to keep certain corals and failed, only to discover after the fact that even very advanced reefers are unable to keep them for very long. I would feel that I should have been at least given some kind of warning about these corals--if it wasn't the case that this information is available in numerous books on the hobby. For example, the two books I have within arm's reach--Tullock's Natural Reef Aquariums and Borneman's Aquarium Corals--both warn beginners about goniopora. I bought these books at my LFS where they were prominently displayed among the other reefkeeping books, so it's not like I'm privy to top secret information here.