PDA

View Full Version : Fuge not growing chaet too well - suggestions

boobookitty
06/18/2003, 10:59 AM
I tagged onto a previous thread but got no answers, so thought I'd start my own. I'm relatively new to macros (but learning :)), so be gentle...:)

I added a CPR HOB refugium (18"x4"x12") on a 75g tank. I stocked it with chaetomorpha, and have it primarily for pod growth and macro...I put it in specifically because I was having a nitrate issue. The nitrates, although better, are still an issue, with around a 5ppm increase a week, so I'm wondering if the chaetomorpha just isn't growing well enough (I've also been searching for reasons why the nitrates are an issue in the first place, since I have a DSB, but that's a different story).

The fuge is the 18" long version, around 3 gallons, with live sand, pods, etc. For lighting I'm currently using a 20W NO flourescent - an ugly Home Depot special - but it doesn't seem to light the 'fuge well enough, so I've just ordered a 55W PC fixture with a 5000K bulb. Could lighting be the issue? Phosphates are fairly low now (after a series of water changes a month ago), around 0.1. In addition to the chaetomorpha, I also put in there some of the red gracilaria that the LFS sell for tangs - it's not growing much, mostly I just use it for storage of a handful while I feed it to the tangs over a month's time.

I *have* noticed a macro growing pretty well, though, and I've had to harvest it a couple times already. Forgive me for not knowing the name, but I'm just starting to get familiar with macro - it starts its life as long thin green strands that grow from the sides of the fuge, which eventually thicken up into flat blades that start to get crinkly after a while - looks like long blades of green grass. Does this sound like ulva? This stuff grows like wildfire in the 'fuge. I didn't put it there, but I've had it grow in the tank before, so it made its way to the fuge.