PDA

View Full Version : Moving Party?

ostrow
06/12/2003, 10:38 AM
Hi. I'm fairly new to Reef Central (see my post in the new to hobby forum). I'm about to acquire a 75G up-and-running reef tank. Won it on ebay from a guy in the North 'burbs.

I'm reading like a madman. I've kept f/w for 2 yrs but this is my first foray into reef. My preference would have been to start with FOWLR but this deal appeared and seemed too good to pass up.

I want my move to be as smooth and successful as possible, and to lose as little as possible in the process.

If anyone is willing to assist a newcomer to the hobby, and maybe get some fish or corals or at the very least I'll buy a good dinner and beer, wine or whatever for your trouble, please pm or email me. I'd really appreciate any assistance someone can provide when the move day comes (still TBD). It may be that I might need someone to provide hotel service for my fish and coral for a time until I know things are stable, though there is some disagreement apparently on whether that is in fact needed.

Anyway, thanks in advance for any help anyone might provide!
Joel

partagas
06/12/2003, 10:43 AM
If you want to make the move easy and painless. Do what I did. I got 5 gallon buckets, yes a lot of them. Fill it with the water from the tank. Put the fish in a bucket with the water also. When you get home put the tank back up and the water and their you go. The fish should have no problems, it is their tank water, so nothing has changed but the scene out their window. The fish should be able to keep in the buckets for a day. Just keep an eye on the temp.

Good luck.

makoshark
06/12/2003, 10:49 AM