PDA

View Full Version : New to zoos -- need advice

Mariner
06/06/2003, 09:41 PM
Ok, I'm relatively new to reefkeeping and totally new to zoos. I brought home a few polyps on a small rock three days ago. Some of the polyps were green centered with orange fringe, and some were orange centered with green fringe -- mixed on the same rock. Small, but very nice. After two or three tries at placing them at different locations in my 75, I've got them about two thirds of the way up on a piece of LR under 4 NO flourescents (including one actinic and one 50/50). Yesterday I shifted a MJ 1200 power head toward them to make sure they're getting good flow.
So far they don't look very happy. Some stay closed most of the time. The ones that open don't look as bright or extended as when I bought them.
Any advice on keeping these happier would be appreciated. Should I be feeding? Is the light and flow sufficient? Do I need to just give them a few days to settle in? BTW I got two shroom polyps and some star polyps at the same time, and they are all doing great.
Mariner

DiamondDave
06/07/2003, 04:56 AM
what are your water params? My experience w/ zoos is that they are tough as hell--what acclimating procedure did you use? BTW--you didn't mention what type of lighting your zoo's were displayed under when you bought them...NO lighting isn't going to give you the same coloration as vho, pc, or mh.

Mariner
06/07/2003, 06:21 AM
Params that I measure are
Temp. 79
PH 8.2
Ammo. 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0
I've started adding a little iodine daily (just one ml of SeaChem iodine in my 75 gal, that's about 25% of what they recommend), but I'm not testing for it or calc. I do a 15% water change every two weeks -- scheduled for one today.