PDA

View Full Version : fragged some now ?s

Tahoe Ocean
05/26/2003, 05:49 PM
1. My brother had a rock with some metallic greens that do not appear to be thriving, one appeared to be falling apart from the edge. I figured I'd frag it off and take it home since the worst that could happen would be to kill it since it already looked very ill. It has actually begun to attach to the rock in my tank already and is expanding more than it did before (48 hrs) but its guts are still hanging out, and this has me concerned. I would think if it was feeling better, it would retract them.

2. I cut two frags off one of my rocks with purple babies, then I put them onto a peice of rock with netting over it. How do I know if I put them on the right side up? This didn't occur to me until I was staring at them and realized I couldn't tell which way was up.

Please forgive these ?'s since this is my first attempt.

kruxy
05/26/2003, 06:05 PM
as long as it isnt a tonga or a ricordea it doesnt matter much what side is up, the new shroom can grow find no matter what way it was oriented. on the hairy shrooms and the ricordias, they actually need to flip themselves back over in my experience, which can delay their reattatchment time, and cause them unnecessary stress. i experimented with my tongas when i was pulling a dozen off of a rock. 6 right side up and 6 upside down. 5 of the right side up shrooms survived, only 2 of the upside down shrooms made it.

so basically if they are the normal purple mushrooms, the smooth or pimpled type, do not worry about it. in the future just take the time to carefully move them around so you can keep track of what end is up :)

HTH

Tahoe Ocean
05/26/2003, 06:08 PM
ok, one more:
do they ever get stuck in the net? I have it loose over the top, but I can see where one of the frags has expanded to the point he's touching the netting.

kruxy
05/26/2003, 06:42 PM