PDA

View Full Version : And so it begins.....

esoxreefer
05/17/2003, 06:56 AM
Hi all,

I have been threatening to set up a mini reef for a few months and now its come to pass. I have met a number of you through my work (manager at the Pet Advantage). I would like to thank all of you who have given me advice about how to get it rolling. That has been very helpful to me. Its been a while since I have had a reef running and a lot has changed during that time. (and what a disaster that first set up was- lets just not mention it again)

So its up and running now for 6 days. Its a black 37 gallon tank. I have an gutted Aquaclear 300 filled with chunks of live rock and topped off with calurpa to provide Bio Filtration. There is an Aquaclear 802, Powersweep 20 and two small water pumps strategicly placed for water movement. I should be recieving a Bac Pak unit shortly to complete the filtering of the tank. I am also waiting for a 400 watt Metal Halide with a 20K Ushio bulb as the main lighting. I should have that on Tuesday or Wednesday. Currently I have a single 55W Power compact and a couple of 15 watt bulbs that came with the tank when it was given to me. For substrate I used a 20 lb bag of aragonite, a 20 lb bag of Oolite Aragalive and added 2 lbs of live sand from our system at work. I have a large peice of very porous coral rock and several smaller peices as the base. On top of that I have added about 6-8 pounds of live rock to seed the dead rock. The live rock has quite a few sponges on it and I also added a red ball sponge. Since I already had a decent amount of detritus in the tank and some of the live rock had algae on it I also added in 6 small hermit crabs.