PDA

View Full Version : MH Lamp Spectra

kaltika
04/23/2003, 02:28 PM
I have been encouraged to take some lamp spectra for the benefit of reefer-kind. To that end, what follows is an analysis of a few lamp spectra, to be compared with the spectrum of the sun.

Anyone knows that hot things emit light. A physicist calls this blackbody radiation and the formula is easily found on the web. There is also a saying among chemists, that a chemist knows that nothing is as simple as the physicists think. I am a physical chemist, therefore I have a slightly more complicated view of things that is probably necessary.

Attached is a spectrum of the sun, overlaid with a blackbody radiation spectrum of the appropriate temperature (5800 Kelvins). The blackbody curve stops at 1000nm because our favorite critters are all living underwater, and water absorbs almost all of the light at 1000nm or more. The curves match pretty nicely.

kaltika
04/23/2003, 02:29 PM
Attached here is a collection of the spectra of three lamps I had handy. The MH lamps are 250 watts, fired by electronic ballasts, each is 3 months old. The NO fluorescent is just the fluorescent bulb over my desk at work, not sure what the color temp is supposed to be, but I'd guess its a 5500K lamp.

kaltika
04/23/2003, 02:30 PM
Here is a view of the NO lamp compared to the sun and two blackbody radiation spectra. The peak is a little to the red side of the 5500K blackbody, in the yellow region of the spectrum. (these are typical fluorescents like are used in schools.)

kaltika
04/23/2003, 02:30 PM
Here we have the Corallife 12000K MH bulb spectrum compared to the sun and the 12000K blackbody spectrum. You can see that the shape of the Corallife bulb matches the 12kK spectrum quite well at longer wavelengths, but reaches a maximum just red of the sun's spectrum (520nm or so), and cuts off at much longer wavelengths than the true 12kK blackbody.

kaltika
04/23/2003, 02:31 PM