PDA

View Full Version : What would be the best protein skimmer?

Jeremy S
04/10/2003, 09:18 PM
What would be the best protein skimmer for an AGA 65-gallon tank? This will be my first saltwater tank so I would like one that is easy to maintain, works well and that I could use with a sump. Thanks. :)

Zander
04/10/2003, 09:47 PM
I would use a Euro-reef type skimmer. You could get a ER CS6-1, an ES5-2, or a Southbay 6-1. Do a search on these skimmers, and you will find plenty of info...

Ant_Knee
04/10/2003, 10:58 PM
I'm using a Euroreef CS6-1 on my 75g RR and it's working great. Don't skimp on the skimmer!

Ant_Knee
04/10/2003, 10:59 PM
Oh and the euro-reef's are real easy to use. Plug-n-play setup!

Nanook
04/11/2003, 07:11 AM
I have no experience with Euroreef...but Lifereef makes an awesome venturi skimmer that can go in or out of the sump. It has a self-cleaning venturi and optional drain plug...very easy to clean and operate.

Nanook

grim
04/11/2003, 08:19 AM
I think I'll jump on this one..

There is no 'best' skimmer.. Only a good choice given a specific application. Skimmer posts always turn into a Jets vs Sharks all-out streetgang brawl. The Euroreefs vs. The Becketts.. It hasn't happened here yet, I guess the Becketts are out fighting on another corner.. ;)

I just picked up an HSA (Beckett) skimmer, I would have done a ER or ER-Clone if I had the sump space. These things seem to have very large footprints (unless, of course, you have the real-estate for them).

I'm very happy with the HSA, and I'm sure i'd have been very happy with the EuroReef, maybe slightly less happy with a clone, I like expensive and overbuilt (bombproof) things.

Your skimmer choice will be highly dependent on your bioload, but don't fret too much, there are a ton of folks here that don't run skimmers at all. Hell, I had my old skimmer out for 2 weeks while setting up the new one, and I didn't notice any changes in chemistry or livestock.