PDA

View Full Version : Newbie

Daytymer
04/08/2003, 10:02 AM
Hi all,

I wanted to introduce myself and see if you all had some ideas for beginners. I am new to reefs, have experience with FO's and way too much experience with FW. I haven't had anything but FW in about 8 yrs and want to get back into it. Figured I'd just go with a reef. They are awesome! From what I can tell, things have changed in 8 yrs.

I am in the stages of setting up a 90 corner overflow. We are currently building a stand and re-plumbing the sump. I need some suggestions on lighting. In the end, I would like to have the proper lighting to be able to house anything. Initially, whatever is going to work for some hardy species.

I am looking for suggestions on stocking the tank. I am trying to put a "wish list" together right now and need to find out about some good hardy corals that won't succumb (too easily at least) to a newbie. By the way, how long does it take to learn what a "zoo" is and what a "zenia" looks like? I feel really out of the loop.

I have about 80lbs of southdown and want to add live sand. Any thoughts on how much? What are your opinions on live rock? Type and quantity?

I am researching everything and in a lot of ways getting overwhelmed by the amount of information out there. If anybody wants to design my setup for me I would highly consider it!

Sorry this is so long. I wanted to fit it all in one thread. Please feel free to email me with any suggestions. daytymer@sssnet.com Thanks... Laurey

szwab
04/08/2003, 11:29 AM
My first reccomendation would be books books and more books! there are several good ones out there. I have personally read and continuously reffered to "the Reef Aquarium" volumes 1 and 2 . if you do a search you will be able to find other books people reccomend.
Second go slow!The only things that happen fast in a reef tank are bad. Good things take time. you need to be patient.