PDA

View Full Version : New Mushrooms

allykahn
04/01/2003, 09:13 AM
I was in the process of upgrading my lighting for mushrooms, polyps, etc, when a relative shipped some mushrooms and polyps to me since he had to move. I am currently running NO lighting (120W on a 72x18x18 FOWLR tank). I ordered some vho's, but they have not arrived. My questions are:
1. Do I need any additives and which brands?
2. What is best to feed them and when?
3. How do I adjust the current lighting NO to VHO? (I will use the NO bulbs for dawn/dusk transition)
4. Will they be ok until the new lights are set up?

I am really thankful for those can help.

minh_han
04/01/2003, 10:36 AM
I am relatively new to reefing, and I only have a few mushrooms, but I can give a few suggestions from my limited experience.

VHO's are a lot brighter than NO's, so I would suggest slowly acclimating your tank to the higher light. Either change one bulb at a time, or shorten the daylight hours and then gradually increase them over time. That way your corals won't get burned.

The mushrooms can do well in a wide variety of lights, so I think they would be fine until the VHO's come in.

Do a search on feeding mushrooms. You'll find a bunch of info. Some people do nothing, some use DT's, I spot feed them with fish food and they close up around the food like a drawstring. It's pretty cool.

There's a BIG debate right now on using additives in the tank, mostly b/c of Dr. Ron's experiment. Do a search on it and see. When it comes down to it, there are a million ways to do things and a million reasons why. You have to just end up going with your gut and trying it out. How's that for a non answer? I personally don't dose anything other than kalk, but I might start dosing iodine for my xenia that hasn't ever done well since I got it a week and a half ago.

HTH

Bryan Thompson
04/02/2003, 08:11 PM
Originally posted by allykahn