PDA

View Full Version : Ricordea Yuma....how do they multiply?

JimD
03/29/2003, 09:06 PM
Hello All,

I have several Florida ricordea color morphs and only a few Yuma pieces. My question is.....how do the Yumas multiply in nature? Of all the Yumas polyps I have....none of them have more than 1 mouth. Do the Yumas ever get multiple mouths?....and multiply in the same manner as the floridas?....or do they multiply in some other manner.

Any information would be appreciated!

Jim

Bryan Thompson
03/29/2003, 11:33 PM
Sorry Jim but I am not a yuma pro but the green yuma I have move on the rock and leave baby ones behind. I hope this helps. I never take a blade to a ricordia to get it to spread. Provide them light and good water quality and let them do it on thier own.

Bryan

dc
03/30/2003, 09:51 AM
And I have small ones just show up away from the main ones. I've never seen mine split.

TIGER SHARK
04/01/2003, 01:47 PM
I have 1 yuma and a couple florida ricordia. I have cut them all the same way as fragging a mushroom. Now the yuma is 2 new ones and a third is growing on the original rock it was cut from.

Leviathan
04/01/2003, 06:05 PM
FWIW-

I have blue yumas, and three of them are splitting at the moment.
In fact one has just formed a third mouth.

Leviathan
04/01/2003, 06:07 PM
Originally posted by dc
And I have small ones just show up away from the main ones. I've never seen mine split.

I have this as well on this blue yuma colony, there are 2 small ones growing a few inches from the cluster. hmmmm

minh_han
04/01/2003, 06:23 PM
So where would I get some of these blue yuma? i don't have any ricordia in my tank yet, but I think navymedic and luminary are sending me a few. Or is it blue mushrooms? Well, whatever they are, I'm sure I'm going to like them. How big do yuma get?

Leviathan
04/02/2003, 12:07 AM
Originally posted by minh_han