PDA

View Full Version : success of aquaculture business?

ReefSharkDudeGuy
03/19/2003, 05:36 PM
Hi, I'm only 18 right now and I'm a freshman in college, planning a major in biology and possibly a masters in marine biology, and I was wondering how successful (on average) propagation business ventures are. Hopefully this is the right forum for this question...I apologize if it's not. Have these been known to fall through pretty quickly, or are they best left as small money-makers that supplement better paying jobs? I'm just wondering because the thought had crossed my mind just the other day that owning my own aquaculture business is something I had never considered as a career. But as I'm continually becoming more and more intrigued with reef tanks and experimenting with them, and being concerned with the conservation of and health of the oceans and their reefs (I'm the son of two wildlife conservationists!), I thought I'd look into it a little.

Also, if this is at all feasible, does anyone have the email address of any propagation business owners that I could get in contact with. Thanks so much.

- the dude

Eric Boerner
03/19/2003, 07:01 PM
Having heard your short background already, about being the son of a conservationist, you wouldn't do very well at it.

Theres 3 ways to approach a propigation business.

1. Broodstocking. The slowest way to make cash, and the easiest way to go under. Almost all coral farmers that use strictly brood stock never get out of the basement business phase.

Broodstocking is having set mother corals that you've owned, or friends of yours have owned for multiple frag generations. They're stable, and will live through hell and back typically.

You cut frags off the mother colony and grow them till they're able to be fragged themselves, and you sell those frags.

This obviously takes a lot of energy and resources to keep the mother colonies growing, as well as a ton of time to get a group of frags from a cutting.