PDA

View Full Version : Aragonite Sand CHEAP! Who's interested?

adamjr
02/05/2003, 02:25 AM
Hello,

My name is Adam Reizner and I am new to CMAS. I have not really met anybody and the forum is new so I don't know peoples opinions yet.

On several other boards there is a lt of talk about SouthDown sand, PlayRight, and YardRight Caribbean play sand being used in aquariums as an inexpensive alternative to Carib Sea (to name just one) aragonite sugar size substrate.

The only problem with this is that there is severely limited supply of these brands in the Chicago area.

I have begun investigating bringing this sand to the midwest by purchasing a pallet load (70 bags at 40# each) and having it trucked in from the processing plant in Pennsylvania to my wifes office where I would make several trips home with the sand.

I am expecting shipping quotes tomorrow afternoon from a few carriers so I can calculate the cost per bag. I am expecting to get the cost per bag to be around $12.00.

At $12.00 per 40# bag I would like to know who would be interested in buying some at the swap meet and how many bags?If there is sufficient interest I will make the arrangements if the cost works out.

I am talking about a substantial cash outlay for me so please let me know. Consider this; I just upgraded my 75 gallon to a 150 gallon and I paid $25.00 per 30 pound bag of Carib Sea. That is $0.83 per pound. At $12.00 per 40# bag that is just $0.30 per pound. Put into the simplest terms the money I spent on 90 pounds of Carib Sea would have gotten me 250 # of YardRight.

Finally if someone knows of a local (anywhere in the northern part of Illinois) to get thsi stuff off the shelf so it would be unnecessary for me to truck it in I would be happy with that info too.

Adam

alpine
02/05/2003, 06:56 AM
Hi