PDA

View Full Version : newbie with nanos

Rcl
01/24/2003, 07:33 PM
Hey guys, im a newbie to nano reefs, but i really want to start one. Could you guys tell me what i need (what to get) for the tank to become operational. Thanks in advance!

duckhuntboy
01/25/2003, 03:46 AM
are you new to all saltwater tanks?

printerdown01
01/25/2003, 06:35 PM
As Rcl asked it would be helpful if we knew a bit about your back ground first. That way we don't insult you if you have been in the hobby for a few years. If you are new to saltwater all together, a nano is still an ok starting point (obviously the bigger the tank the more stable), but I have seen many people enter this hobby in the nano realm and do quite well! So first thing first, what sized tank are you looking at going with? Popular sizes normally include 5, 7, 10, 12, 15, and 20 (some will include 30s in the category of nano). The second most important question is what you wish to keep. Don't worry we don't need a detailed list, but it would be a good idea to know whether you want to mainly keep soft corals, large polyp stonies, or small polyped stonies. If you are not familiar with these simply look at pictures of nanos or regular reef tanks until you find a tank you want to mimic and then post the pic.

Rcl
01/26/2003, 03:22 PM
yea, im totally new to saltwater. i have been keeping freshwater for a long time though. I plan on doing probably a 10 gallon tank, mainly with soft corals. Thanks.

Ps:What are frags? lol

duckhuntboy
01/26/2003, 08:53 PM
What's your budget?

10 gallon nano could probably be set up right between 180 and 400 bucks (excluding corals/fish/whatever), depending on type of sandbed, live rock, whatever. My 7gallon was like 180 going as cheap as possible, making the hood, etc. I wish I would have bought a custom hood though. Keep that in mind in thinking of the budget.

duckhuntboy
01/26/2003, 08:57 PM