PDA

View Full Version : What eats diatom films off sand surface?

RobertK
01/25/2001, 11:32 AM
Hi Ron,
I've been fighting a diatom bloom on my sand bed for 4-5 months now. It started on my old sandbed which had too much large CC in it, and it persists on my new 4" ESV oolitic sandbed which I installed 2 months ago. The trocus snails keep the glass and rocks clean but mostly stay off the sandbed. The Nassarius and bristleworms cruise the sand but don't touch the diatoms. I bought some cerith snails but most of them died. I also got some Strombus maculatus from IPSF but they don't cruise the sand either. I added a brown and white Caribbean cuke last week but it eviscerated its guts and I haven't seen it for a few days (I removed the evisceration and everything else in the tank seems fine). The tank is 60 gallons (48 x 15" footprint) and the rocks take up about 1/2 - 2/3 of the floor space, so I don't think there's enough room for a queen conch. I use RO/DI water and have gotten the PO4 and Si levels in the tank down to undetectable levels. NO3 is around 30. Is there anything else I can add that will eat the diatoms off the sand? Should I add another cuke (which type?) or give the eviscerated one some more time to emerge and start eating?
Thanks a million,
Robert

[Edited by RobertK on 01-25-2001 at 10:39 AM]

rshimek
01/25/2001, 12:59 PM
Hi Robert,

Well, this is a bit of a quandry. The best animal for your situation would be a queen conch, but I suspect you are dead on with your estimation of having insufficient space for it.

Ceriths sometimes work, but the most common ceriths in the hobby are intertidal, and generally die before long in our systems.

I would suggest another mopping cuke and perhaps the cultivation of some macroalgae to help utilize the essential nutrients will help.

You might also consider getting some spaghetti worms and or other detritus/herbivorous worms (these come in the detritivore kits).