PDA

View Full Version : Center Brace on Perfecto tank broke!!

grizz
01/24/2001, 12:22 AM
I was doing a water change today and noticed that the center brace on my perfecto 110 gal high was broken at the front frame of the glass.. there was about 1/2 inch gap between the brace and the frames.. obviously the walls were bowing!! I made a steel brace and painted it so it wouldnt rust and brought the walls back together... my question is this.. what are your experience with the center braces.. any problems... any horror stories? and how about perfecto.. are they bad tanks? I have only had this tank for a year... I would hate to have to replace it already... thanks for your help.. any other suggestions would be appreciated..

Agu
01/24/2001, 10:29 AM
Grizz,

Bummer :( !!

I have no experience with perfecto tanks so can't comment on them. Painted steel that close to the water long term would make me nervous. I'd look into having a stainless steel brace made, or at least put some type of splash shield under the replacement brace.

Agu

grizz
01/24/2001, 12:19 PM
The center brace is still attached on the back side, so when we put the new painted brace on, it goes over that brace... do you still think I will have problems??

Agu
01/24/2001, 12:36 PM
If it's the wide glass or plexi brace you should be OK, I was thinking of the narrow plastic strips on smaller tanks.

Agu

grizz
01/24/2001, 02:10 PM
It is the brown plastic brace that is part of the top frame... there was alot of pressure on the side walls..

Zeph
01/25/2001, 07:56 AM
Have you called Peefecto? I just recently received a full refund on some PC lights that went bad (of course they were under recall). There customer service was outstanding.

Their number is 317-773-6627.

Thanks,

Zeph

grizz
01/25/2001, 09:32 AM
Zeph,
Is that Perfecto's number? I didnt know that they made pc lights.. I will for sure give them a call... thanks!!

grizz
01/25/2001, 06:00 PM