PDA

View Full Version : biocube skimmer

luv2reef
11/09/2007, 01:55 PM
hey guys i just picked up this biocube skimmer from my LFS. Does anyone else have one, i think it works well for the ease of installation, compact design, no modifications necessary and $40 pricetag. But I am new to skimming, seeing as how i nano my life away, i was wondering how high the bubbles should rise in the chamber, overfow into collection cup or to the top/middle. Thanks for the help!!!

luv2reef
11/10/2007, 02:31 PM
bump

luv2reef
11/13/2007, 07:03 PM
come on....nobody has tried this product. From Oceanic, skimmer for 14 gal and 29 gal?

mudskiper
11/13/2007, 07:25 PM
I have one that i have put on my 10gal. and it seems to work good. I turn the air all the way up on mine and that is where i get the best results. A good little skimmer for the price.

atomicpile
11/13/2007, 08:48 PM
I use it in my bc29 as well. Seems to work well, but I also have to turn the air all the way up.

luv2reef
11/14/2007, 05:52 PM
when the air is all the way up doesn't it overflow excess water into the collection chamber? Also how often do you clean out the collcection cup? thanks

mudskiper
11/14/2007, 07:40 PM
I dont have a problem with any excess water flowing into the cup. I clean out the cup once a week when i do a water change wether it need it or not.

InLimbo87
11/14/2007, 07:59 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=11184028#post11184028 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by mudskiper
I dont have a problem with any excess water flowing into the cup. I clean out the cup once a week when i do a water change wether it need it or not.

If you only have to clean the cup once a week, the skimmer isn't doing its job IMO.

Personally I'd look into a more efficient skimmer such as the Sapphire Aquatics BC29R or the upcoming Euroreef nano skimmer. Both look to be much more promising/better designed.

gsxunv04
11/14/2007, 08:15 PM
what does "bump" mean

?

kingfisher62
11/14/2007, 08:15 PM