PDA

View Full Version : DIY HSA/EAP-2 Skimmer

ericsaun
01/06/2001, 12:48 PM
Helllo Everyone! I'm new to the reefkeeping hobby, and have gathered an immense amount of info from this board. I'm still in the planning/acquiring stages of my new reef.

I'm in the process of building a Beckett style skimmer borrowing some ideas from other DIY's out there.

I'm going to separate the downtube from the riser similar to the EAP-2 design. I'd like to eliminate any unnecessary turbulence within the riser. The questions I have are as follows:

I would like to use a 2" X 48" downtube with a MAK-4 or equivalent pump. Is this too much head (4') combined with too large pipe to get good results. Or should I just go with 1" pipe??

What is the best way to introduce the flow of bubbles into the riser (approx 4' as well)?? Should I just use an elbow directed upwards into the riser, or some sort of a reducer (say 3/4" hose barb) fitting directed at such an angle to create a swirling action within the riser??

I would appreciate any ideas/suggestions anyone may have.

I've completed the Beckett valve body so far and it looks great IMO. I used the 3" pipe combined with 1/4" thick acrylic disks suspending the Beckett in between from Ian McDonald's design . I must say Weld-On #40 is some messy stuff to work with, but that is some good stuff.

Thanks again in advance.

Snailman
01/06/2001, 08:27 PM
ericsaun...

[welcome]

have you looked here -> http://www.ozreef.org/diy/index.html

ericsaun
01/06/2001, 10:56 PM
Thanks!!