PDA

View Full Version : sand swap

Shooter
10/11/2002, 11:38 AM
I missed the October meeting last night due to a conflict with another meeting that I go to. Anyway, I was wondering if the sand swap was done and if so, when the next one might be? I am going to try to make the next meeting, which would be on November...? What is the criteria for the sand swap? Does anyone have any tubeworms, bristle or fireworms, cyano, etc? How does everyone know they aren't getting a cup of bad critters from someone's tank? I would love to have the variety of stuff that this swap would bring but am concerned about introducing something to my tank that I don't want. Thanks!

Idaho Bob
10/11/2002, 12:40 PM
I'm not an expert on this, but as I understand it, you are likely to get a little of all those things in a sand swap. I think the theory is that bristle worms and all sand swelling creatures are good things. I know my sand is loaded with bristle worms. Cyano is probably present in every aquarium, and only is a problem if conditions combine to encourage a bloom.

deucejimmo
10/22/2002, 05:58 PM
Shooter,
Define for me a bad sand critter. The idea is to promote bio diversity to the sand bed. I dont belive that any thing that will live and propigate in a sand bed is a bad thing.

reefskinner
10/22/2002, 07:10 PM
I got Flatworms a few years back from a "sand swap" I no longer trade sand with anyone unless I am 100% certain I am not getting any pests. It was a nightmare to get rid of them. Granted, you can get bad bugs with any live rock or sand you put in the tank, it is a gamble I guess.

Shawn

deucejimmo
10/23/2002, 10:26 PM
Reefskinner ,
What problems did the flat worms cause in your tank? Or was it just that you had flatworms the problem. Most flat worms are algea eaters and will generally dissappear as quickly as they showed up. They usually do not cause any harm to the inhabitants of the tank.