PDA

View Full Version : Good Idea or Bad Idea?

El Jefe9830
08/29/2007, 03:23 PM
Ok since I am fairly new to this, thought I would put my ideas out here, and see what you all think.

As you know, I just got the 300 gallon acrylic tank, and I am thinking that I will run a Berlin Sump with a 300 gallon rated refugium. Based on a good suggestion, I will stabilize the two between each other, and then probably have a large pump pull from both and split into the two returns I have in the tank.

I am open to criticism about this, as well as ideas. Thanks for the help.
Corban

usemore
08/31/2007, 12:19 AM
Its allways better to have a slower flow through your sump (3 to 5 times) and fuge, and have the main flow through your tank provided by a closed loop, or lots of powerheads

El Jefe9830
08/31/2007, 10:05 AM
Cool Thanks for the help.

Here is what I am thinking for a sump/refugium. I am thinking about doing one large tank, and here is a diagram of what I am thinking. Please Tell me what you think.

http://www.notoriousonline.net/Refuge1.jpg

usemore
08/31/2007, 12:24 PM
looks good skimmer chaimber may need to be a little bigger depending on the skimmer you choose.

El Jefe9830
08/31/2007, 03:36 PM
Check out the picture again, and see what you think. I changed it around a bit based on some suggestions in the filtration forum.

I got rid of the first baffle, and made the return bigger. Also, only two baffles after the refugium.

Let me know if you think this good.

usemore
08/31/2007, 07:01 PM
:thumbsup:

usemore
08/31/2007, 07:53 PM
i dont think you wil need the second sponge filter
it will also keep pods from traveling to your display via the return pump.

GreenUku
08/31/2007, 10:34 PM
How will you clean the sponge filter in the first set of baffles?

El Jefe9830
08/31/2007, 11:27 PM