PDA

View Full Version : New Guy in Paso Robles

jdh22
08/01/2007, 10:37 AM
I’m new to both Paso and Reefing. I have been slowly setting up a 90gal, slowly because it’s expensive and I don’t want to get a divorce. I’m new at this so I’m only working towards a FOWLR for right now, but I built everything so I can easily add MH’s and reactors later for building up a reef.

I have been on SD Reefs and Reef Central forums for about 8 months before I started and I often head over to Aquatic Adventures on my lunch breaks (I work in San Luis Obispo for the City) to quiz the staff. Chris has been a tremendous help so I have bought most of what I have so far from them.

So far I have built the stand & hood (book shelves will fill the space between the top of the hood and the ceiling, I haven’t finished those yet. I also just finished the plumbing and ordered 100 lbs of dry sand. I plan on culturing my own sand and rock so Ill also get some base rock then seed both with about 20lbs of LS and 20lbs of LR.

What do you guys do for water around here? I have a hard time stomaching buying RO/DI or premixed water. I am leaning towards getting an RO filter and mixing my own. I also hear that there is free filtered saltwater down at UC Santa Barbara, which sounds interesting to me but I would need to fill some big drums to make the drive worth it.

Anyway, I just found this group so I thought I would introduce myself.

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c339/Slider_1979/1.jpg

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c339/Slider_1979/2-1.jpg

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c339/Slider_1979/3.jpg

http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c339/Slider_1979/4.jpg

Rockitmakr
08/01/2007, 11:23 AM
Welcome to RC!
I used to live in California a few years ago, in your neck o the woods. Do you ever go to Mr.Ricks & The Old Custom House? Both were built & owned by my Dad.
:beer:

SolidDetail808
08/01/2007, 04:40 PM
Welcome