PDA

View Full Version : Peppermint shrimp and baby Banggai's

gas4544
12/24/2000, 09:17 PM
My father Banggai is coming up on three weeks and I will be moving him to the nursery tank in the next couple of days. Since the first successful brood, the 10-gallon nursery tank has become a nano tank with a live sand bed, rubble rock, caulerpa, assorted mushrooms, some softie frags, an emerald crab, some micro-hermits, a coupla snails and two small peppermint shrimp (for Aptaisia control).
Will the baby Banggai's be at risk if I leave the peppermint shrimp in the nursery tank? I could just move them to the reef.

FMarini
12/26/2000, 05:14 PM
Great question...
i have No personal experience w/ this....
i can speculate right????
i would suggests that they shrimp will attempt to eat the fry, the fry are easy food, and they sleep at night, so my guess(a 50/50 chance) is don't keep the fry in there w/ the shrimp
frank

Clyde
12/26/2000, 09:31 PM
Rod - a friend from the chat rooms, and a fellow friend I met through JT

had what ? 12 bangaii frys put in his sump today, there was 5 - 6 left in 1 hour

the sump holds a few peppermint shrimps he said.

so just an FYI what I heard.

gas4544
12/27/2000, 01:27 AM
Tomorrow I leave for Maryland for a week and I am leaving my tanks in the care of my two roommates. I just went over the list of duties and guidelines with them. They have taken care of my tanks several times successfully.
Tonight I am going to make one last try to catch my egg-carrying Banggai. Since the last transfer to the nursery tank, I have added about 40 lbs of live rock, creating more hiding places. And unfortunately, I have two big peppermint shrimp and three cleaner shrimp in the reef tank. And a lawnmower blenny that will eat anything that will fit in his mouth.