PDA

View Full Version : Best snorkling right off of the beach vacation?

Hunter77
08/27/2002, 03:01 PM
Here's what I want out of my next vacation: I would like a nice resort type of place on the beach where i have to do nothing except eat, sleep, and snorkle on the beach. Where is the best place to just grab the snorkle mask and go swimming right of the beach at my leisure, any time of the day I want. I want there to be a decent reef right off the shore, i guess it would be more like a lagoon.

Where, geographically is the best place to do this? Please include cost per person if you can, thanks for your help!

billsreef
08/27/2002, 07:07 PM
What's your experiece level and how far are you willing to travel?

RicksReefs
08/27/2002, 09:21 PM
head to your local dive store &
pick up a copy of skin diver,dive training,
or similar magazine.they always have
beach dive packages advertised in'em.

Hunter77
08/28/2002, 07:09 AM
I have no dive experience, but I have been snorkleing all my life. I can swim! Plan on getting serious with diving down the road but way to busy right now. I wanna relax, grab the mask and see some cool reef stuff at my leisure. I have snorkled at a small reef area literaly a few feet into the ocean on a small bahama island (princess kays). I thought it was the coolest thing ever, everything was right there and I only needed a snorkel. Took some cool underwater photos too. there were most of your basic carribian fishes. saw a huge nassau grouper, 2.5-3 feet. I guess I will go anywhere, kinda saving hawaii, australia, and places like that for a more serious site seeing vacation.

I'll pick up that magazine, thanks.

clutchcargo
08/28/2002, 07:51 AM