PDA

View Full Version : Quality foods

cfockler
08/07/2002, 03:40 PM
If we created our own saltwater mix with an appropriate "trace" level of trace elements then it seems that providing quality foods with minimized trace elements would be the next key to prevent these toxic buildups. Does that sound right?

How does this approach sound?

- Use DIY salt mix and RO/DI (I live in Ohio)
- Feed the tank heavily with live foods cultured in DIY saltwater
- Establish 4" minimum DSB
- Skim relentlessly during the day
- Turn off skimmer at night to protect the sand infauna which comes up into the water column
- Harvest macroalgaes (perhaps use Turf Scrubber) for nutrient export

If I followed these guidelines would it still be worthwhile to look into PolyFilter and GAC filtration?

Thanks again for these recent articles. I'm new to the hobby, but it seems obvious to me that you're revealing some new truths that seem profound and will likely alter the hobby for the better in the future.

rshimek
08/07/2002, 04:24 PM
Originally posted by cfockler

Hi Clint,

If we created our own saltwater mix with an appropriate "trace" level of trace elements then it seems that providing quality foods with minimized trace elements would be the next key to prevent these toxic buildups. Does that sound right?

Well, it may be hard to provide foods with minimized trace elements; here (http://www.animalnetwork.com/fish/data/foods.asp) are some data on food composition. Trace elements seem to get concentrated in many good foods, and it is not easy to find foods without such concentrations.

If I followed these guidelines would it still be worthwhile to look into PolyFilter and GAC filtration?

Probably. We have small systems, and the build up of these chemicals probably can occur very rapidly.

..., but it seems obvious to me that you're revealing some new truths that seem profound and will likely alter the hobby for the better in the future.