PDA

View Full Version : First time setup question

Allin14
01/27/2007, 12:52 PM
I am new to the Nano tank, I have a 60 gal reef right now but I just bought a 12gal Nano Cube Dx today and I am not sure what is best to put in the back filtration area. I would appreciate any help. Thank You!!

montanabay
01/27/2007, 01:07 PM
remove everything but the pump

chamber 1: chemi-pure, purigen, filterfloss (put the filterfloss on top)

chamber 2: Live rock rubble (fill it right up!)

chamber 3: Pump and heater

YellowDesmo998
01/27/2007, 02:44 PM
I would put the LR rubble in a 1000 micron bag to make it easier to clean the poo and such that will get past the floss. Just my opinion of course.

Also be sure to toss the floss at least once a week. I do it twice a week and the floss comes out stinking pretty bad even at that frequency.

Illuminati
01/27/2007, 02:44 PM
Ditto to what montana said, just replace the filter floss weekly when you do waterchanges.

I personally have chemi-pure in chamber 1 and purigen in chamber 2 and no rubble in the back but there is more than one way to set these up.

Good luck.

montanabay
01/27/2007, 03:31 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=9089519#post9089519 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by YellowDesmo998
I would put the LR rubble in a 1000 micron bag to make it easier to clean the poo and such that will get past the floss.

this is a good idea, never thought to try that, but soon will!

Cheers,

Josh

Allin14
01/27/2007, 05:53 PM
Thanks for all the help guys!!! Hope everything goes well

alexf23
01/28/2007, 08:15 PM
so the way the tank comes setup would not work? with the sponge in the first and in the second the carbon and rings bag along with bio balls.

Illuminati
01/28/2007, 09:33 PM
alex-

I can work for fish only systems but if you want to keep corals it is best to ditch the media.